Nice Rack.

15 Feb

Get your mind out of the gutter, silly!

Today we are talking about DRYING racks!

One “must have” art room staple is the drying rack.  Where there is paint, there must be a place to dry the paint! For the record, I LOVE my drying rack.

I opted for the model that holds 100 sheets. You’d be amazed at how many days this rack is filled by the end of the day.  I see 6 groups each day, and chances that we’ve painted and or glued are pretty good.  I wedge it between my drawers and paper cutter and can easily pull it out for easy student access. 

I train students to do one thing, and one thing only, when putting their art on the drying rack.  Start at the BOTTOM and work your way UP. This way I can fit  4 whole classes on the drying rack (remember how it fills up fast!). The red papers at the top are the “place mats” students use to put under smaller artworks so they don’t fall though.  Students also use them to paint on to save the table. It works like a charm.

One amazing idea I found a long time ago, and still want to implement is this sign that Jodi from One Crayola Short. Isn’t it clever!? Click on the photo to see her whole post on this idea.

What other drying rack tricks do you have up your sleeve?
13 Responses to “Nice Rack.”

  1. Anonymous February 15, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    I have a few small drying racks… two are double sided like yours but shorter. Each side fits the projects from one class but I can never remember from one day to the next which class was which, so I have name tag labels that are laminated that I clip on at the top of the drying rack so I know what class to keep it all with. My kids are “trained” to look for their teacher’s name so they always know exactly which rack to use for their projects.

    • Jessica Balsley February 15, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      Ohhh I like the clip idea, you could even do this for grade levels (little ones at the bottom, big at the top).

  2. Clare February 15, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    So funny you posted this today! I was just expressing my frustration with some of my students today about my larger drying rack. I have 2. One similar to yours and the other is for larger paper……18×24……but you have to lift and pull on each shelf so the shelf will drop….and then art work can go……a BIG pain. This rack was in the room when I started my job and so I ordered the other one….in which we refer to that one as the “Small Drying Rack” I also stress the “start from the bottom and take the next avaible shelf”. I also have place mats that I use for small work and also as class dividers. I also assign a student helper to be posted at the drying rack to assist students with placing there work on the rack at the end of class. Sometimes chaos happens at the rack!

  3. mariee February 15, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    A drying rack is one thing I dearly wish I could have- alas as an artist-in-residence who travels from room to room it is not a possibility. One thing we do have in the classrooms are oilcloth “desk protectors” so that the teachers won’t mind messy days too much.
    What do all those art-on-a-cart teachers do??

    • Kellie Determan February 15, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

      Mariee,
      When I was art-on-a-cart I had a large dry rack like Jessica posted only it lived on a wheeled cart. I would roll it down the hall with the cart as I went. If necessary, student helpers would roll it to the next class or to the storage spot until I could get to it. It was the best we could do with out a classroom.
      ~Kellie

      • Jessica Balsley February 16, 2012 at 7:49 am #

        That does not sound fun, Kellie. I have a moment of gratitude for what I have after hearing that story.

    • Bonnie February 16, 2012 at 8:07 am #

      Mariee, I was on a cart for 5 years. My custodian is fantastic and he allowed me to keep my drying rack, looks the same as Jessica’s and has wheels, in a storage closet. On the days I knew I would need it I got it out and put it in a central place in the hallway of the grade level I was teaching. Being on a cart I made sure I just jumped from room to room in order down the hallway. Our school has almost all grade levels in the same hall. I would lead the kids out of the room with art in hand and have them put the artwork on the rack. I trained them to make a line and turn to the right to head back to the room. Once they get the hang of it, it goes pretty smoothly. The drying rack can not be moved till papers are dry though. I tried once, and only once, to move it with artwork on it and it was a disaster!

    • Rochelle February 16, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      I’m an art-in-a-suitcase teacher. I travel to various locations about the city with my entire project in a suitcase. I can’t keep drying racks with me, and the student locations cannot have drying racks. So, my solution is a hair dryer. It has worked well for my projects, but ofcourse, on any given day I only have to deal with one group of kids, and usually no more than 20 projects to dry. The other tool I’ll utilize is a floor fan if a particular location has it available. Hopefully someday I’ll have an art room, WITH those awesome racks ;)

  4. ATHG February 16, 2012 at 6:08 am #

    I have a SMALL (9×12) drying rack in my room and it drives me nuts, especially since MOST of our painting projects are required to be on 18×24 paper. Last year we lined paintings up on the floor, against the wall to dry (I didn’t have any counter tops), put them under the tables (so long as the class coming in after was painting too since there is no sitting while we paint), and tacked them up on cork strips along the walls (so long as there wasn’t any drippy paint). This year, in my new room, we have NO floor space, so I have kids haul their work to the other art room or if it’s the last class of the day, we just leave them on the table over night. I envy the art teachers with nice racks.

    • Jessica Balsley February 16, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      Hahaha! I knew your humor would appreciate the title.

      Have you considered getting a tall one like mine? I want to say it was around 100 dollars and doesn’t take up a lot of space. I have very small room.

  5. Mrs. Euken's Art Mooseum February 16, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    I’m fortunate enough to have a big, very old drying rack. Since it is old it’s pretty heavy, which is a good thing. This past summer I took it to the car wash and cleaned it really good. I don’t think the old art teacher had cleaned it in about 15 years. It worked like a charm. Then I put a fresh coat of spray paint on it. It look like a million bucks now.

    One inexpenisve suggestion if you don’t have drying racks, is to take metal hanging file racks and lay them upright on their sides. They work great for 9 X12. They only run a couple of dollars and they hold a dozen paintings when you are in a pinch. They also stack and store nicely.

  6. tylerandi February 17, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    Do you mind saying where you got yours at??? I haven’t found a drying rack for $100 anywhere and I would love to have one like that.

    • Jessica Balsley February 17, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

      Now I have to think. I am also not sure I paid 100 dollars now that I think about it! I know it wasn’t outrageous, though. I am thinking Sax or Dick Blick was where I ordered it. I should have went back and looked at my old orders before I posted this. So, I am not much help!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 468 other followers

